Watched Lately

We LOVE the new couch we got for the basement. The first one I picked out didn’t fit so it had to be returned. And not that it didn’t fit in the basement, we couldn’t even get it into the house. (Darn 100-year-old houses with their tight corners and narrow doorways.) But I’d like to think it was a blessing in disguise because it gave me the chance to give this guy a second look. I loved it immediately at the store, but quickly ruled it out because it was too long. On the second go, I realized that each piece was sold individually. If I purchased just 4 of the 5 pieces and rearranged them a bit, I had a perfect fit. *Ahhhh!*

IMG_3098

It is so comfy for stretching out on. And since we also got a new TV for the basement, we’ve been watching a ton of movies lately. Some good, some great, and few meh. Here’s what’s been playing:

Top of the Lake

BH_kR4qCMAARrBc

This is a television miniseries of 7 hour-long episodes, which I binge-watched (via Netflix) over the course of 3 days. (And then Kate showed me up by finishing the entire series in one sitting while she was home sick one day.) It’s a mystery/drama about a 12-yr-old pregnant girl who tries to commit suicide and then disappears. Elisabeth Moss plays the main detective on the case, and you learn a lot about her past along the way. There are some good plot twists, as well as plenty of strangeness that keep it interesting. And the scenery is amazing – it’s set in (gorgeous, gorgeous) New Zealand. It ended with just enough questions left unanswered to make me mad yet keep me thinking about it. But I think the biggest takeaway for me was the look of the series. It was misty and cool and fresh. I want to go there.

Dart river valley.  Rees-Dart Track in Mount Aspring National Park, NZ

Blackfish

MV5BNTkyNTkwMzkxMl5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwMzAwOTE2OQ@@._V1_SX214_

I don’t remember who recommended this documentary to me, but it popped up on Katie’s list right about the same time. She watched it one day while I was at work, and then I saw it on the Netflix queue the next evening. I watched it while being saddened and horrified and made to feel ill. Great review, right? It’s a film that takes a look (finally) at the incidents with Killer Whales and their trainers at Sea World. It’s heart-breaking and infuriating, but I recommend it nonetheless.

The Intouchables

MV5BMTYxNDA3MDQwNl5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwNTU4Mzc1Nw@@._V1_SX214_

(Not to be confused with the Kevin Costner/Sean Connery film, The Untouchables). Finally, a feel-good movie! This one was great. It’s about a French aristocrat who becomes paralyzed and hires an ex-con to be his personal aide. It’s based on a true story, and you grow to just love these guys. Funny and touching. Yep, still making me smile.

Nobody Else But You

MV5BMTc4NjAwMTYxMV5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwMzE0Mzc3Nw@@._V1_SX214_

I liked this movie because the story was different from most things I watch. From IMDB: “A bestselling crime novelist who is desperately looking for a new story hones his focus on the apparent suicide of a small-town woman, an aspiring model who thought she was the reincarnation of Marilyn Monroe.” It’s set in rural France in the winter, and is surprisingly light for being about a dark subject. You cheer for the writer as he fumbles through figuring out this woman’s story, as it seems the whole town is trying to get rid of him. And her apartment in an old bakery is adorable. That said, I don’t regret watching it, but I wouldn’t call it a great movie by any means.

The Vicious Kind

MV5BMTc0Mjc1MDYwMV5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwNzkyMjY2Mw@@._V1_SX214_

Um…not really sure how I feel about this one. It was NOT what we were expecting. Like at all. Whatever trailer we watched really sugar-coated things! It’s a surprising family drama. But more than anything, it’s such a weird way to see Adam Scott.

Her

MV5BMjA1Nzk0OTM2OF5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTgwNjU2NjEwMDE@._V1_SY317_CR0,0,214,317_

This is another one I’m struggling to decide how I feel about. Joaquin Phoenix plays a man who falls in love with his operating system, which is programmed to learn him and appeal to him. I’ve heard lots of people describe it as weird, but I really didn’t feel that way. In fact, I found it very, very believable. Then again, I find myself thanking Siri for sending text messages for me, so maybe I’m the weird one. This is still playing in theaters, and the big screen may have been a bit overwhelming for me. There seem to be lots of close-ups of Joaquin’s face. Like, I could now easily identify him by his upper lip. I told Katie afterwards that I didn’t know if it was our location in the theater, our seats (which reclined), or the camera angle, but I felt like I was looking up a lot of the time. And she pointed out that maybe it was supposed to be from the perspective of the operating system, so it was shot down lower (like from a computer on a desk), which I found really interesting. The lighting in the film is really pretty, like everything is tinged with pink or orange, as if during a sunset. But the pants are ridiculous (and now for sale for $195)!

And the 2 “meh” movies that we watched but don’t really recommend were Drinking Buddies and Frances Ha. I thought Drinking Buddies had promise, but it just fell flat. It seemed like many of the scenes were ad-libbed, and not in a good way. And I swear they were drinking beer in every scene…it was weirdly annoying. Frances Ha was just kinda blah. However, it was nice to see peeks into what seemed like realistic NYC apartments.

Have you watched anything great lately? I’d love some recommendations!

(all photos from IMDB)

3 responses to this post.

  1. We love watching movies too!!
    Last night we watched Leap Year and enjoyed it.. but the other week we watched a “feel good movie” called…. ummm damnit I cant remember.. I will get back to you on that one!
    Another one I enjoyed was the Best exotic Marigold Hotel one. Its been out a while now though so you may have already seen it.
    We watched Blue Jasmine the other night… *blah* Cate Blanchet played a great part but the movie was ordinary.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Jill Neeley on February 9, 2014 at 1:33 pm

    I felt the same about frances ha. Elizabeth moss won an award for her role in top of the lake. I didn’t realize it was on Netflix, so thanks for the recommendation.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

