Real Food – Day 2

I started Day 2 of Real Food Week with a new recipe – quinoa for breakfast!

First, I melted a tablespoon of peanut butter in the microwave and mixed it with 6oz of plain yogurt and a sprinkle of cinnamon.

Then I added about 1/2 c cooked quinoa.

I mixed up the quinoa & yogurt and then topped it with 3/4 of a chopped apple (all that would fit in the bowl!)

This was really good! Apples and peanut butter are a natural combination, and the quinoa gave the yogurt more staying power. Plus, it was something different.

We had a team outing scheduled for lunch so I didn’t pack any food from home. Of course something came up last-minute, and I had to stay back at the office. :( Right before the cafeteria closed, I ran down to snag something to eat.

I think I did pretty well! I got tomato soup and a salad-bar mix of chickpeas, beans, tomatoes, green peppers, and radishes with a little balsamic vinegar.

Katie took the lead on prepping veggies for easy snacking and meal-making. I came home to a fridge full of sliced veggies and diced fruit. In mere minutes I had a delicious dinner!

I started with a whole wheat English muffin and slathered hummus on both sides. Then I started piling on the veggies.

Side one contained orange, yellow, and red bell pepper slices on top of fresh basil leaves.

The second side had tomatoes, cucumbers, and spring mix. And I sprinkled it all with freshly ground pepper.

All closed up, this puppy was huge!

Served with sweet & juicy cantaloupe.

Perfect for a hot Summer night.

2 responses to this post.

  1. im loving ur real food posts!!! u make everything thats fresh and healthy look SO YUMMY!!!! <3

    have a fabulous weekend love!

    Reply

  2. I’ve only had quinoa for breakfast a few times but they were delicious each time. You’re PB quinoa sounds AMAZING!! :D

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

