Real Food – Day 1

After stocking our kitchen with lots of fresh foods, I was actually excited to prepare my meals for the day!

Breakfast was yogurt & a diced nectarine:

Ready to be mixed at my desk.

This yogurt is great. It’s organic and flavored with actual fruit, so it’s not too sweet.

Plus, it doesn’t have far to travel to make it to Omaha!

Lunch started with a sweet potato that I steamed in the microwave.

These pre-washed, pre-wrapped guys are a little more expensive, but they sure make packing your lunch easy.

I topped the cooked sweet potato with hummus and pepper. Yum!

Enjoyed with a banana and water.

Afternoon snack was a few nut clusters. These were good, but a little sweet. I think I’d prefer a salty/savory version.

I walked through the door after work with a game plan in mind. This made preparing dinner so much easier/quicker. First, I cooked a large batch of quinoa that we could use over the next week.

I dished out a serving and piled a salad on top.

This is spring mix, green onions, tomatoes, and sweet onion vinaigrette.

Top it all off with an over-medium egg and some hot sauce.

Delicious.

Later, I hit my dessert craving with a tablespoon of peanut butter. It felt good to have a full day of good eats!

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by elizabeth on August 6, 2010 at 6:55 am

    I love sweet potatoes! But I’ve learned that you really don’t need to buy the ones wrapped in plastic in order to microwave cook them. Just poke a couple of small holes in a potato, and loosely wrap in a paper towel, then microwave for 3-4 minutes (depends on your microwave, I guess) flipping halfway through, and they steam up really nicely! The paper towel and the skin of the potato keep the steam in!

    I’m glad you had such a great trip to Boston- it’s such a fun, walkable city!

    Reply

    • Good tip, thanks! I like the idea of using a paper towel. Microwaving plastic wrap seems wrong…are chemicals leaching into my food?!

      Reply

  2. Posted by elizabeth on August 6, 2010 at 6:57 am

    now I realize that the 3-4 mins is for a small potato, for a bigger one I guess you’d want to knock the time up a bit. you can always put it in for longer if it isn’t done, though!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

