I Think I Need Some Real Food!

You have to check out these cupcakes from Jones Bros. that Katie and I had to celebrate the start of our vacation.

All packed up in their cute little box for two.

The one on the left is coconut. The one on the right is sweet and salty. And I’d like to point out that Katie staged and took this adorable picture for me. :)

We shared.

Although I haven’t been eating too terribly lately, I can tell that I’ve been getting kind of lazy with my meals. I’ve had more granola bar breakfasts and cafeteria lunches than I’d care to mention. And traveling always seems to leave me feeling a little junky. I tend to eat and drink more when I’m not at home. And I want to try everything that is new or local!

When we returned from Boston, our fridge was empty. Honestly, we were in desperate need of groceries for more than a week before we left. Katie has been talking about limiting the amount of processed food in her diet, so we decided now would be the perfect time to load up on fresh produce, whole grains, organic yogurt, and lean meats (for Katie.)

But first, we needed dinner.

McFoster’s Natural Kind Cafe is an almost completely vegetarian restaurant. They serve some fish and free-range chicken, but I’d say at least 90% their menu is meat-free, and most of that is vegan-friendly. This place has been around for a while, and is very hippie-ish. I got kind of burnt out on it when I moved back to Omaha 5 years ago because it was one of the only places to get vegetarian fare. Plus, it’s just a few short blocks from where we live(d).

The menu has grown – there are 2 more pages like this!

I ordered half of the avocado deluxe sandwich with sweet potato fries.

The sandwich was exploding! It was avocado, organic cheddar, lettuce, onions, cucumbers, sprouts, and veganaise on hearty bread.

The sweet potato fries were tempura-battered and a bit too greasy. However, they were served with a homemade banana ketchup that sounded weird but tasted great!

Then it was time to shop. After a 3-hour excursion to Costco and our regular grocery store, we were back in business. Some of the food you can expect to see over the next couple of weeks:

From Costco:

  • blueberries
  • bananas
  • apples
  • bell peppers
  • spinach
  • spring mix
  • cucumbers
  • celery
  • frozen broccoli
  • yogurt
  • quinoa
  • nuts
  • eggs
  • hummus

From the Regular Grocery Store:

  • peaches & nectarines
  • cantaloupe
  • corn
  • green onions
  • radishes
  • sweet potatoes
  • whole wheat English muffins
  • Ezekiel sprouted sourdough

From the Garden:

  • tomatoes
  • basil
  • peppers

Yay! I think the grocery shopping gods were shining down upon us. ;)

2 responses to this post.

  1. [...] About « I Think I Need Some Real Food! [...]

    Reply

  2. [...] Uncategorized. Tagged: breakfast quinoa, quinoa, quinoa recipe. Leave a Comment I started Day 2 of Real Food Week with a new recipe – quinoa for [...]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

