Is It May Yet?

When I was a Senior in high school, our class t-shirts said ‘Is it May yet?’ on them. I really do feel like May came exceptionally early this year, but even now when I’m thinking ‘Is it really May already?!’ my mind gets interrupted by the ‘Is it May yet?’ slogan of yesteryear. Ah, those were the days….wishing time would go faster instead of slower!

Yesterday (back in April) I started my day with a cream cheese and jam sandwich, half a grapefruit, and coffee.

Cream cheese and jam go so well together! This is how Katie and I like our crumpets. Have you had crumpets?! Mmmmmm! (Note to self, buy crumpets. And more jam.)

Lunch was Amy’s lentil soup with a little corn mixed in (finally finished off that corn!) and pita chips.

(Just realized how gross that soup looks – I swear it was not a bowl of vomit!)

And for snack I had red bell pepper strips and hummus.

Katie surprised me with a delicious iced soy latte for a Friday afternoon treat!

After work we went to my parents’ house for dinner. My family tries to get together once a week for Family Night. It used to be on Wednesdays, but now that I’m meeting my running club for the Wednesday night speaker and group run, we’ve been trying out other days. Friday was nice because we didn’t have to worry about getting kids home and to bed. Then again, it made for a late night! My family is really close – it’s hard to separate us. :)

We had ‘build your own salads’ for dinner. There were lots of toppings to choose from!

  • spinach
  • mixed greens
  • hard boiled eggs
  • avocado
  • tomatoes
  • onions
  • 4 kinds of cheese
  • seasoned pecans
  • grilled red potatoes
  • grilled steak
  • grilled chicken
  • bacon
  • 8 or so dressings

The grilled potatoes were a great way to ‘bulk up’ a vegetarian salad!

My nephew asked why I was taking pictures of my food, so I told him about my blog. He ran straight in to the computer and looked it up! I asked if he wanted to be on it, so he offered to hold my salad for me. Thanks, buddy! :)

With my dinner I had a glass of rose Cote de Rhone. (Please excuse the ice cubes in it – the wine chiller didn’t work very well!) From unfortunate experiences with white Zinfandel, I used to think all ‘pink’ wine tasted like juice. :) I was happy to discover this is not true for all roses. Sometimes I crave a chilled, light wine, and this hits the spot! I’ve only tried a couple different kinds, so I need to do some more tasting to see what I like the best.

After dinner we played games and then Katie and I headed to The Waiting Room to see a local band we both really like, It’s True. It’s hard to pinpoint why these guys are so good, but I’m always blown away! (Read this description of their music.) I had 3 Hoegaardens while we were there. The one with the orange garnish was the best – thanks Kevin! :)  Such a good show!

This morning, I was pleased to wake up to a beautiful Saturday.

I made myself breakfast of egg & cheese on toast, a slice of peanut butter toast, and strawberries.

As I was outside photographing my food, I noticed Stella was in the middle of the yard barking at the grass. I knew there was something in the grass. I was even pretty sure what that thing was. I decided to suck it up, put my shoes on, and go check it out for myself. Yep, it was a snake.

At first I was worried it was dead. (This would be bad because Stella likes to roll around in dead things.) But I think it was just frozen in fear, because when I moved Stella away from it, it started slithering away. I knew they were out there (Katie warned me), but I’m still a little freaked out by them. They are not poisonous…but still, they’re snakes. I figure if I just get myself accustomed to them, they might not seem so bad. I try not to be grossed/freaked out by animals or bugs…as long as they stay out of my house.

After that fun, I gathered my things together for a day of ‘me & my bike’ enjoyment! Today was the first day of the Omaha Farmers Market so I rode my bike downtown to check it out!

They started a new recycling program downtown – woohoo!

I had an iced coffee while I walked around for a little while, enjoying the gorgeous, sunny day!

I was near Katie’s parents’ apartment, so I stopped by to say ‘hello’. They were outside enjoying the weather, too!

Then I was off to a special lunch. Katie’s mom told me about a new vegetarian (and very vegan friendly) restaurant that she read about in the newspaper a few weeks ago. I figured today would be a perfect day to check them out – especially since you get one item half off if you ride a bike there!! Welcome to, Daily Grub.

Daily Grub has a menu that changes weekly, which includes soups and tacos during the week, brunch on the weekends, and fresh juices and smoothies all of the time. I ordered a small spinach, pineapple, and ginger juice. I had wanted the carrot, apple, parsley juice, but they were out. I ended up really liking the one I got – it was sweet and spicy! And I’d say about 150 milliliters. :)

The brunch menu is mostly waffles, but I decided to try the ‘Comfort Special’ which was sweet potato hash, collards, cashew cream hominy, jalapeno corn bread, and a bottomless cup of coffee.

Delish! This was a very satisfying meal. I really want to come back during the week to try the tacos.

One other thing I loved about Daily Grub was that everyone was nice to me! This might seem weird, but so often I feel like at these small ‘hip’ places the people working are only nice to the people they know. But that was not the case here. The guy that took my order answered all of my questions kindly and with a smile (instead of seeming annoyed like some), and the chef/owner and what I gathered to be her mother both thanked me and said goodbye as I was leaving. That kind of stuff makes a big difference to me, so thank you!! I will be back.

So, let’s recap why Daily Grub is good:

  • yummy vegetarian food
  • cute and airy – there’s even a patio
  • discounts for biking to the restaurant (I saved $6!)
  • fresh juices
  • friendly people
  • close to my house

So, wrapping up the ‘me and my bike’ portion of the day, I saddled up and headed home – which was only (a hilly and windy) 3 miles away. Thanks, bike, I had fun!

11 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Taysa (Water, Butter and Wine) on May 3, 2010 at 10:46 am

    I love it when places give discounts to bike riders! Your pictures of the farmers market remind me it’s time I start hitting up the ones in my area on the weekends. The problem is that I can never seem to get up early enough. :)

    Reply

  2. Oh my god I have so many comments. That snack photo just scared the ba-jesus out of me! Anyways, I love cream cheese + jam sandwiches. When I was little I wouldnt eat PB because it made me so thirsty so cc+jam it was! So cool that you live in Omaha. I live in Iowa City and visit my sister who lives in Omaha quite often. And I always make a visit to Whole Foods while Im there :)

    Reply

    • Yay for the Midwest! I’m pretty new to blogging and haven’t found many people near me…yet. :) Sorry about the snake pic – I probably should have given more of a ‘warning’ of what was coming!

      Reply

  3. thanks for ur comment:) thats so awesome to hear that u ended up going on a longer run than planned! running with others can be the best motivation! <3

    Reply

  4. So in a Google of “Omaha” and “Crumpets,” this is among the higher links… and you say: “note to self, buy crumpets.” Where do you buy your crumpets? Who is Omaha’s premiere crumpet pusher!?

    Reply

    • Ha!! This made me laugh. :) I get crumpets at HyVee (the one at 78th & Cass specifically). They are in the refrigerated section near the tubes of biscuits & cinnamon rolls.

      Reply

    • Ok, an update. I was at HyVee last night and they’ve moved things around a little bit. The crumpets are now in the refrigerated section next to the refrigerated English muffins and bagels. Just wanted to let me know so you don’t have an unnecessary breakdown next to the cinnamon rolls! :)

      Reply

  5. You are ridiculously awesome.

    Reply

  6. Posted by Chris on October 6, 2012 at 9:58 am

    Just got home from uk & want crumpets in Omaha! Thanks anywhere else you can get them? Yorkshire pudding?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

