Sweet Potato Fries to Die For

I’m going to rush through my morning/afternoon eats because I have a VERY exciting dinner to share with you!

Breakfast was very similar to yesterday’s:

With tea instead of coffee.

Lunch was also like yesterday’s, but I had a veggie burger patty instead of the cheese sandwich.

I also had carrots and hummus and a large iced coffee with soy milk this afternoon.

As I was waiting for my (delicious!) dinner to cook, I ate a pear.

Ok, now onto the good stuff!

Tonight I made nut-butter coated sweet potato fries!

These were inspired by Angela from Oh She Glows, who was inspired by Ricki of Diet, Dessert, and Dogs. (I’m not exactly sure who I need to credit, so I thought the more the merrier!) My take uses sweet potato, peanut butter, and tahini. I will definitely try these with almond butter at some point, but I’m currently out!

These fries are to die for. And they are actually very simple to make! First, gather up your ingredients and tools (a little ‘mise en place’, shall we?)

(knife, sweet potato, peeler, cutting board)

(peanut butter, salt, olive oil, tahini)

(the cutest darn measuring spoon you ever did see – thanks Mine!)

(This recipe is for 1 generous serving or 2 small sides.)

  1. Preheat your oven to 400 degrees F
  2. Peel sweet potato and slice into fry-like shapes (similar sizes = even cooking)
  3. In a medium bowl, combine:
  • 1/2 Tbs (heaping) tahini

  • 1/2 Tbs (heaping) peanut butter

  • 1/2 Tbs olive oil

  • a large pinch of salt (to taste)

4.  Whisk together

5. Toss sweet potato in nut butter mixture, to coat

6. Place the fries on a lined baking sheet in a single layer, trying not to let any touch.

7. Bake for 40-50 minutes, or until golden and crispy.

8. Meanwhile, lick the bowl clean. :)

Yum, yum, yum!!! Just look at these beauties and try not to drool! :)


I enjoyed mine with a nice, cold beer on my new porch swing – perfect!

I can’t wait to make these again! You could do the same thing with parsnips or rutabagas or regular potatoes and almond butter or cashew butter or sunflower seed butter and cayenne pepper or garlic or cumin or chili powder…the possibilities are endless!

2 responses to this post.

  1. Hey Lizz! Thanks so much for making the fries–and I’m so glad you liked them! If you haven’t tried the parsnip or rutabaga versions yet, you should–it will make you like rutabaga! (At least, it made me love rutabaga). ;)

    PS Your “credit” is perfect–Angela saw my recipe and adapted it to her tastes. My original has almond butter, hers has PB–both are yummy! :D

    Reply

  2. […] mustard) and peanut butter parsnip fries. The parsnip fries didn’t turn out as well as the sweet potato fries, but I think it’s because I cut them too thin so they charred a […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

